Drabbles

In English class, we had to write a short story or exactly 100 words using a specific quote from A Tale of Two Cities. It was surprisingly hard. I did the standard who-what-where-when-why-how and the backbone was already over fifty. I didn’t use that. I basically just did what. It could be considered a slice of life thing…maybe…not really.

Trying to write a drabble (a 100 word story) is like being given this

but wanting to create this.

I chose: ____ was on ____ way to dig ____ out of a grave. It looked like the easiest of the three. I didn’t want it to be depressing or bloody (school appropriate) and this is what I came up with. (About a week late for Halloween though…) Obviously, I didn’t manage to make the flowers. I made a petal. It was kinda frustrating and I had to get rid of nearly all my adjectives and I replaced FANBOYS (for, and, nor, but, or, yet, so) with semicolons.

:::

She was on her way to dig her sister out of a grave. It was supposed to be a Halloween prank. Anyone else’d hide near the grave. Lily jumped right in.

Adel stopped at the graveyard. Holding her breath was stupid but…breathing into souls. She braced herself. There was a scream. Adel followed it, heart racing.

“What took so long?”

She was going to murder her. “You screamed.”

Lily smiled. “And you came faster.”

Adel glared.

“Help me out. I waited over seventeen minutes. That isn’t ‘right away’.” Lily held out her hand.

“Call someone else, then. Happy Halloween, sis.”

:::

This entry was posted in Re-Framed, Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

