Reading

I’m over halfway done with A Tale of Two Cities and I can honestly say it isn’t as bad as I was expecting.

There are way too many flowery adjectives and descriptions that allude to other things that I have to look up to get that aha-moment (Jerry Cruncher = Jesus Christ). If I cut out all the adjectives, I can basically summarize an entire chapter in two or three sentences. The stuff we analyzed in class made me not want to read it because every single unnecessary word that I cut out in my notes had some greater meaning. Plus punctuation. Those super long sentences aren’t really run-ons – the commas, dashes, semicolons, and colons just show how everything’s connected.

But if I read it myself, willingly (procrastinating on chemistry homework, which I think is ten times worse), the book’s good. I read all of book two in one go. It was interesting and I liked it. I liked reading chapters twelve and thirteen. I like Mr. Carton and I laugh at Mr. Stryver. I don’t like Lucie much. Why is everyone chasing after her? She’s very perfect.

Discussion and analysis in class and I hate it again. I write down the stuff we say in discussion because it’s going to be on the test, google the connections I should be making and comparing to what I do get on my own. Luckily, it’s partly Bible stuff (heaven, hell, resurrection), and mostly mythology (which I used to be genuinely interested in and also had a summer reading assignment on Mythology by Edith Hamilton). What’s left is historical events that I’m sort of learning in history right now so it’s not too bad.

This entry was posted in Re-Framed and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

